Happy Mother’s Day!

I remember realizing one day that some of my friends didn’t have a good homemade dinner most nights of the week. I was definitely spoiled by my mom’s cooking, and I couldn’t be more grateful for that. Of course I used to wish that we went out to restaurants more often, but that’s probably just because my sister and I could get away with hiding under the table and reading all the Chinese horoscopes out loud and laughing way too loudly.

But today I know how lucky I was to be taken care of the way that I was by my mom. Don’t get me wrong, we weren’t eating elaborate four-course meals each night. But I learned from my mom how to plan ahead and make healthy meals even after a long day at work. And now as I attempt to do that on my own, I appreciate that so much more. Sometimes I would whine about having chicken again for dinner, or a meal of leftovers, but those simple meals still included all of us sitting together in the kitchen and sharing a meal together. And sometimes simplicity is just perfect. (Here are 46 examples!)

IMG_2832

My mom knows that better than anyone. She can whip out an impressive dessert spread – for a recent dinner at our house, we made meringues, macaroons, biscotti, chocolate pot de crème, and sponge cake. But the dessert my mom has a major weakness for is the simplest of all: rice krispies treats. We rarely buy baked goods at coffee shops, but if they are selling rice krispies treats, I can always expect her to ask mischievously if I want to split a square.

So in honor of Mother’s Day, I decided to make her this treat that she never makes for herself. (because it’s too dangerous – she’s afraid she’ll eat the whole pan! Uh oh, like mother like daughter…)

IMG_2840

I am in the midst of final exams, so I sadly couldn’t make it home today. But I wanted this simple treat to show how much I appreciate all of the simple things that she does that mean so much. I know that I am only able to dream and plan and settle for nothing less than true happiness because of the example and the support that she has given me, even for the ambitious, kind of crazy ideas. (Wow, that’s a lot of pressure for some rice krispies treats.) So I wish lots of happiness and deserved relaxation to all the mothers that spoil us with love and good food, and teach us how to dream, create, and love for ourselves.

If you want to make these goodies for yourself, or your mom…

I used the recipe right from the Rice Krispies website:

3 tablespoons butter

1 package (10 oz, about 40) regular marshmallows, or 4 cups mini marshmallows

6 cups Rice Krispies

1. In large saucepan melt butter over low heat. Add marshmallows and stir until completely melted. Remove from heat.

2. Add Rice Krispies cereal. Stir until well coated.

3. Using buttered spatula or wax paper evenly press mixture into 13 x 9 x 2-inch pan coated with cooking spray. (I used an 8 x 8 x 1.5 inch pan – it doesn’t really matter.) Cool. Cut into 2-inch squares. Best if served the same day.IMG_2843

I melted about a 1/4 cup of chocolate chips with a couple tablespoons of peanut butter, and 1/4 cup of white chocolate to drizzle over the top.

One thought on “Happy Mother’s Day!

  1. From a true connoisseur of rice krispie treats, yours are outstanding and almost gone!!

    Love,
    Ema

    PS Abba loved them too

Leave a Reply

