Chocolate Cravings

As much as I waxed on last week about relaxing and enjoying the rest of my summer in Madison, there’s a fine line between relaxed and bored. Luckily, I’ll be starting a new job next week!

I was thinking about what to do with myself the other day, pre-new job, when I found this recipe. I knew exactly what I would be doing with my afternoon. The perfect way to celebrate getting a job!

IMG_3876-2

These cookies are good. I could search for some more descriptive words, but really…they are just good. Seriously. Why aren’t you making them yet?

IMG_3886-3

The batter has very little butter and flour, lots and lots of chocolate, and smells just like brownies.

The cookies bake up with slightly crispy edges, and a center that goes from chewy to soft, without tasting at all doughy or under-baked. And the flavor will satisfy any chocolate craving. They’re like brownies with more texture. Yummm…ok, I need to go brush my teeth now, or I’ll have to snatch another one.

IMG_3882

Chocolate Toffee Cookies

adapted from Smitten Kitchen

1/2 cup all purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 pound bittersweet (not unsweetened) or semisweet chocolate, chopped
1/4 cup (1/2 stick) unsalted butter
1 1/2 cups (packed) brown sugar
4 large eggs
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
5 1.4-ounce chocolate-covered English toffee bars (such as Heath), coarsely chopped
1 cup walnuts, toasted, chopped
Flaky sea salt for sprinkling (optional)

(Instead of 5 Heath bars, I used half chopped Heath bars, and half chopped Reeses peanut butter cups, and I left out the walnuts. Use any combo you like! But the toffee is really delicious.)

Combine flour, baking powder and salt in small bowl; whisk to blend. Stir chocolate and butter in top of double boiler set over simmering water until melted and smooth. Remove from over water. Cool mixture to lukewarm. (I took a shortcut with the microwave, which works fine. Just heat in very short increments, mixing in between, to prevent burning the chocolate.)

Using electric mixer, beat sugar and eggs in bowl until thick, about 5 minutes. Beat in chocolate mixture and vanilla.

Stir in flour mixture, then toffee and nuts. Chill batter until firm, about 45 minutes.

Preheat oven to 350°F. Line 2 large baking sheets with parchment or waxed paper. Drop batter by spoonfuls onto sheets, spacing two inches apart. Sprinkle with a pinch of flaky sea salt, if you’re using it. Bake just until tops are dry and cracked but cookies are still soft to touch, about 12 to 15 minutes. Cool on sheets. (Can be made 2 days ahead. Store airtight at room temperature.)

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Cravings

Leave a Reply

