House-Warming Granola

What’s more comforting than the smell of freshly made granola wafting through the house? Not much that I can think of. I think that’s why I was compelled to fill my new apartment with that warm scent tonight, my first evening in my (almost) unpacked, settled-in home.

This recipe comes from Kathryn, my sister’s college roommate for the past 5 years, and I will never look for another granola recipe. This one is delicious every time. I think the coconut is the secret. (The combination of honey, brown sugar, cinnamon, and vanilla helps too.)

I could snack on this all day, and it’s great with milk for a hearty breakfast. You’ll feel so good about yourself for making homemade cereal! You can use whatever dried fruits and nuts that you like. Here’s a picture from last year, when I used dried cherries, apricots, figs, and slivered almonds. (I was actually attempting granola bars here, but it didn’t really work out.)

Endless possibilities! This time I went pretty simple with almonds (buy them raw, since they’ll roast in the oven), raisins, and a few dried cherries.

Alright, I’m going to keep munching on my granola, slip on my birkenstock look-alikes, and make a hemp bracelet with my roommate.

Happy end of summer!

Kathryn’s Granola

6 cups oats

1 cup coconut

1 cup slivered almonds (and/or whatever dried fruits and nuts you like)

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup oil (I use vegetable oil)

1/2 cup honey

1/2 cup brown sugar

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

A little cinnamon

Combine the dry ingredients on a baking dish. In a microwavable bowl, combine the oil, honey, brown sugar, vanilla, and cinnamon. Heat in the microwave to dissolve the sugar.

Pour the mixture over the oats/dry ingredients and mix well. Make sure everything is coated with the syrup mixture.

Bake at 300° for 30-40 minutes. Every 10 minutes remove from the oven and mix well.

2 thoughts on “House-Warming Granola

  1. Ok, this sounds good too! I’ll have to give your recipe a try too. I made my first batch of granola this week, and it’s a total hit. Plus it’s so much cheaper than what the health food store sells…tastier too! Thanks for sharing!

  2. I made this granola today and it was really good! I did not have coconut but added 1 cup of wheat bran. I plan to make the granola again with the coconut. I strongly recommend this recipe!

    Debby

Leave a Reply

