On Blogging

When I go to a blog and see several posts in a row apologizing for the writer’s long absence, I tend to close the tab. I like the bloggers that I follow to upload content regularly. I know, what a hypocrite, right? It’s easy for me to say that I don’t need to be consistent when my only readers are family members (hey Lindy!). They tend to be pretty forgiving. But if I’m going to come back to this blog in a real way, I want to do it right. And that means making a few changes around here.

So here are some ideas/thoughts I have for my little corner of the internet. I might as well post them here instead of on a personal Google Doc, in the interest of holding myself accountable:

  1. I need to hold myself to a regular (but achievable) posting schedule.
  2. I want to have a broader scope, so even when I’m not baking every weekend, I can still blog.
  3. I never really figured out how blogging would fit into my life after undergrad. Deciding to have a broader scope helps, but I need to do some real exploration to figure out what my point of view is going to be.
  4. I’m toying with the idea of incorporating some video content. I’ve recently become obsessed inspired by several YouTube beauty/lifestyle vloggers, and I’ve gone back and forth on the idea of creating some videos of my own.
  5. I might need to accept a bit more vulnerability. Being on the internet, especially if I’m talking about more than just baking, means putting myself out there. It means trusting myself and being comfortable with family, friends, and strangers learning things about me, making their own assumptions, and passing judgement. It means being secure in who I am and what I decide to make public about my life.

I guess that’s all for now. Let me know what you think (that means you, Lindy 😉). I’ll let you know what I come up with as I try to figure out what the future of Recipes On My Nightstand looks like.

With love,

Adi

4 thoughts on “On Blogging

Leave a Reply

