The Art of a Small Wardrobe

When I get ready for work in the morning, I seem to spend a solid 5 minutes standing in the closet staring at my clothes. This can partially be attributed to the fact that I’m not, and never will be, a morning person. Plus I’m in partial darkness, trying not to wake up B. But I am also sifting through so much clothing that’s out of season, that I don’t know what to pair with, or that I just don’t love.

So now I’m attempting to take on my wardrobe and make it smaller, more efficient, and more loved. I want to be able to easily put together an outfit at 7am with minimal thought.

What I’m working toward is called a capsule wardrobe. It’s basically a pared down collection of clothing items that are easily interchangeable to create many different outfits. The term was coined in the ’70s, but one blogger who seems to have helped popularize the idea more recently is Caroline at Un-Fancy. I highly recommend her blog if you’re at all interested in starting a capsule wardrobe. I was also inspired by Anna at ViviannaDoesMakeup.

My goals with this project are:

  1. To only keep clothing that I love.
  2. To never feel like I don’t have anything to wear, when I’m looking at a closet full of clothes.
  3. To have a better sense of my own personal style.
  4. To reduce frivolous spending. Once I have things pared down, I should be able to see where the gaps are in my wardrobe. Then I can buy what I need and be done until the next season.

I got rid of a lot of clothing last year, when I read The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up, by Marie Kondo (creator of the KonMari Method). But my current wardrobe still isn’t very cohesive. I’m struggling to really pare down to the essentials and let go of pieces that just don’t fit together or aren’t versatile enough.

Here’s a peek at the chaos that ensued when I started pulling all the clothes out of my closet. Cobbler and Maple didn’t mind cozying up amidst the piles. 😊IMG_20151122_153754050

Over the weekend I used Caroline’s “wardrobe planner” to think through what I want my wardrobe to look like at the end of all this. (Saturday night: cozy blanket, Autumn candle, and some worksheets…nailed it.)IMG_20151123_153237352

The next day I removed all the out-of-season items from my closet and stored them under the bed. I’ve kind of made 2 capsules, one for work and one that’s more lounge-y, but I think I could get it down to just one. I still have a few more items than I’d like (I seem to have a ridiculous number of sweaters and cardigans). I don’t have it all figured out, but it feels really good to have gotten started. I’m going to give it some time, make some adjustments, and post an update once I have more to report!

Leave a Reply

