IMG_3377.JPG

B and I had a little baking marathon the other night. It started with wanting to use up a few items in our fridge: a tub of mascarpone cheese and a couple beets from Imperfect Produce. As B is wont to do, he settled on an ice cream recipe – Jeni’s beet and poppy seed ice cream. The beets had to roast in the oven for an hour, so naturally we decided to start on some doughnuts in the meantime.

Also working on beet ice cream. How gorgeous is that? #jenissplendidicecream #beet #organic #farmfresh

A post shared by Coffee With Adi (@coffeewithadi) on

IMG_3384.JPG

I got a doughnut pan over the weekend, and I’ve literally wanted one ever since Joy first posted about hers 2 years ago. If you haven’t noticed already, I’m kind of a Joy the Baker fangirl.

First time using my doughnut pan!!! Brown butter doughnuts a la Joy the Baker!

A post shared by Coffee With Adi (@coffeewithadi) on

So while B continued perfecting the art of homemade ice cream, I whipped up these Brown Butter Baked Doughnuts. It was unbelievably easy. I know baked doughnuts might be blasphemous to some, but I can’t complain about a yummy doughnut treat that doesn’t require kneading, rising, rolling, and standing over a sizzling pot of oil.

Just don’t expect it to taste like a fried doughnut. It’s kind of in its own category, with a texture almost closer to that of a cupcake.

IMG_3395.JPG

Joy has you include quite a bit of freshly grated nutmeg in the batter. I haven’t used nutmeg much, but I really like the way it adds some spice and compliments the brown butter flavor.

For the frosting I went with a very simple mascarpone frosting from Smitten Kitchen’s cookbook – just mascarpone, powdered sugar, a pinch of salt, and a bit of vanilla extract.

We had a bunch of leftover beet puree from the ice cream, and I experimented with using the juice to decorate the doughnuts.

The beet poppy seed ice cream tastes as unique as it sounds; it’s the most exotic flavor we’ve tried yet. I really like it, but it certainly wouldn’t be for everyone. The beets are earthy but sweet, and the poppy seeds are slightly nutty. There’s also orange zest, which really shines through and brightens all the flavors.

Have you had any baking adventures lately? Let me know in the comments!

3 thoughts on “Doughnuts for Dinner

Leave a Reply

