Let’s talk about makeup.

IMG_3523

As I mentioned in a super meta post here, I’ve been thinking about broadening the scope of this blog (and have already started to do so). Instead of just baking, I want to use this space to talk about life in general and things that interest me. One area I might chat about is makeup. This probably seems totally random for many of you, and I apologize if you don’t give 2 hoots about the subject.

I thought a good place to start would be trying to explain (for myself as much as you guys) why and how this interest developed.

IMG_3513

I just got into makeup 1-2 years ago. It was a combination of my friend Jenna introducing me to the wonderful world of Ulta; trying to feel more adult and put together for post-student life; and thinking about makeup for engagement and wedding photos. I never expected to suddenly have a bursting makeup drawer and a deep commitment to a handful of beauty channels on YouTube.

But, here we are.

IMG_3521

To me, makeup combines creativity and self expression with technique and attention to detail. It might not seem like it, but it actually has that in common with baking. In both there is technique to learn and steps to follow (and I love myself some orderliness); and in both there’s also the potential for endless creativity – colors and textures and flavors to combine and experiment with.

IMG_3535

But what truly sucked me into all things beauty is the women I watch on YouTube who have come to feel like my friends. They talk about things like concealer and BB cream and drugstore dupes, but they reveal part of themselves as well, so that it starts to feel like I’m hanging out with them over a cup of coffee. Which, incidentally, is where the name for my own YouTube channel came from – Coffee With Adi – I would love for my viewers to feel like they’re sitting at the breakfast bar with a cup of coffee while I whip up a batch of cookies.

I’m rambling. The point is, I discovered some lovely ladies on YouTube who distracted me from the stress and anxiety of my day to day life, and somewhere along the way I started to care about what they were talking about. The end result of which was me purchasing too much makeup.

IMG_3529

So stay tuned for future posts on products I’m loving, tips and tricks, reviews, and ramblings on makeup and skincare.

2 thoughts on “Let’s talk about makeup.

Leave a Reply

